Board of Directors Executive Committee

Michael Bridges

Michael Bridges, Chairman

Mr. Bridges has served on the BRHC Board of Directors since 2000. He also served as a member of the Grace Hospital Board of Directors from 1990-1999. He is the President and CEO of Bridgeway Solutions. Mr. Bridges is a graduate of East Carolina University with a degree in Business Administration. He served in the US Marine Corps as a Naval Aviator and is a Vietnam veteran. In 1993, he received the North Carolina Order of the Long Leaf Pine Award and the U.S. Small Business Administration’s N.C. Small Businessman of the Year.

Mac McCrary

H.M. (Mac) McCrary, Vice Chairman

Mr. McCrary has served on the BRHC Board of Directors since 2005. He also served as a member of the Grace Hospital Board of Directors for several years and as Chairman of the Board. He served 10 years on the NC State Health Coordinating Council. He retired after 34 years of service from Wachovia Bank where he was Senior Vice President and head of Business Banking in Western North Carolina. Mr. McCrary is a North Carolina State University graduate with a degree in English Literature.

Sherrod Salsbury

Sherrod Salsbury, Secretary

Mr. Salsbury began his service on the BRHC Board of Directors in 2007. He retired from Shadowline Manufacturing Company as the President and CEO in 2010. Mr. Salsbury is a graduate of the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill with a degree in Industrial Relations. He received his master’s in business administration from East Carolina University.

Jeff Carswell

Jeff Carswell, Treasurer

Mr. Carswell is the BRHC Board Treasurer and serves as the Chairman of the Board Finance and Investment Committees. He has been a member of the Board of Directors for 13 years. Mr. Carswell has 35 years of banking experience and is an executive with First Citizens. He is a Gardner-Webb University graduate with a degree in business management and accounting. He also has been chairman of the annual Carolinas HealthCare System Blue Ridge Pro-Am Golf Invitational since its inception.

Board of Directors

John Brandstrom

John Branstrom

Mr. Branstrom is a financial advisor with MassMutual Carolinas and is a 44-year member of the Million Dollar Round Table. Mr. Branstrom is a graduate of the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and is on the board of Caldwell Halfway House and Community Foundation of Burke County. He previously served as president of the Burke County Chamber of Commerce and chairman of the Burke County Board of Commissioners. He was Rotary Club of Morganton’s 2012 Man of the Year.

Alan Griffin

Alan Griffin

Mr. Griffin is president of Griffin Contractors Inc. with offices in Morganton and Linville. He has more than 40 years of experience in residential and commercial building and contracting. Mr. Griffin has held several leadership roles in the industry including president of the Western Piedmont Home Builders Association, president of the N.C. Mason Contractors Association, and president of the Mason Contractors Association of America. He also served as president of the Burke County Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Griffin is a graduate of Western Carolina University with a degree in business.

Susan Haire

Susan Haire

Ms. Haire is a partner at Starnes Aycock Law Firm in Morganton. Having received her undergraduate degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1992, she graduated Summa Cum Laude from North Carolina Central University School of Law in Durham in 1995. Ms. Haire has served on The Community Foundation of Burke County, The Real Estate Section of the North Carolina State Bar, the BB&T local advisory board and was a past President of the 25th District Bar Association.

Felicia Simmons

Felicia Simmons

Ms. Simmons is Director of Secondary Education for Burke County Public Schools and previously served as a principal throughout the system. She earned a master’s degree in school administration in 2005 from Gardner-Webb University. She also holds teaching degrees from Appalachian State University and Winston-Salem State University. Ms. Simmons was named Burke County Public Schools 2017 Wells Fargo Principal of the Year and 2017-18 Outstanding Leadership Award. She is a Paul Harris Fellow recipient from the Rotary Club.

Allen Vannoppen

Allen VanNoppen

Mr. VanNoppen is founder and president of VanNoppen Marketing, started in 2001. He is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University with a BS in physics. He worked as a journalist and was a furniture manufacturing executive serving in sales and marketing before founding his own company. He is membership chair for the Rotary Club of Morganton and has served on the boards of other community organizations including Western Piedmont Community College Foundation, Burke County United Way, Burke Recovery, and Morganton Day School.